Monday through Friday
9:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M.
1:20 P.M. – 4:00 P.M.
Please read the information below before scheduling an appointment.
DO NOT BRING ANY FIREARMS WITH YOU TO YOUR APPOINTMENT.
- 21 years or older
- Legally living in the United States
- Must be a resident of Ohio for 45 days immediately preceding the date of application
- Must be a resident of Wayne County or an adjoining county for 30 days immediately preceding the date of application
- Under the age of 21
- A fugitive from justice
- Under the indictment, charged, or convicted of a felony or any narcotics, controlled substance, or dangerous drug violation
- If proceedings are pending for any felony, any misdemeanor that is an offense of violence, or the offense of falsification of a concealed firearm license or possessing a revoked concealed firearm license
- Convicted of assault if the victim was a peace officer
- Convicted of a misdemeanor offense of violence other than the assault of a peace officer or resisting arrest within the 3 years immediately preceding the application date
- Two or more convictions within the five years immediately preceding the application date for assault or negligent assault
- Conviction within the 10 years immediately preceding the application date for resisting arrest
- Adjudicated as a mental defective, or committed to any mental institution, or is under an adjudication for mental incompetence, or has been found mentally ill by a court and subject to hospitalization, or is an involuntary patient
- Convicted of a felony or has been adjudicated a delinquent child for committing an act that would be a felony if committed by an adult or if the person has been relieved from disability to have a weapon
- Subject to a civil protection order, a temporary protection order, or a protection order issued from another state at the time of application
- Convicted or pled guilty to an offense involving the trafficking of any drug of abuse or an adjudicated delinquent child for committing an act that would be an offense involving the trafficking of any drug of abuse if committed by an adult
- Drug-dependent or a chronic alcoholic
- If you cannot purchase a gun from a federally licensed gun dealer, you will not be able to obtain a CCW license
- If you were dishonorably discharged from the military
- If you need further information, please refer to the manual on Ohio Attorney General's website by clicking here.
- A CCW permit is valid for 5 years.
- Any adjoining county of your residence. If you live in Wayne County, you may get your CCW in Wayne, Stark, Summit, Holmes, Medina, or Ashland County.
- If you live in Stark, Summit, Holmes, Medina, Ashland, or Wayne County, you can get your permit in Wayne County.
- A certificate of completion for CCW training is valid for 3 years before you would have to take the class again.
- As of now, the State of Ohio does not require a refresher class to be taken, even if your permit expires.
- You will have to take the training again only if your certificate expires before you get your permit.
- The Wayne County Sheriff’s Office does not offer CCW classes. To locate a training class/instructor, check with local sporting goods stores, gun shops, gun clubs, buckeyefirearms.org, etc. Make sure the instructor offering the training has a certificate of training from a national gun advocacy organization (i.e. National Rifle Association (NRA) or the Ohio Peace Officer Training Academy (OPOTA)) and is certified as an instructor to teach firearms training. Ask to see their credentials and certification.
- We accept applications by appointment only. Our schedule is booked quickly and we do not have enough time between appointments to take walk-ins.
- The State of Ohio allows a CCW holder to renew their permit any time prior to expiration, however the new permit will expire 5 years from new renewal date.
- There is a 30 day grace period after your permit expires that you can still carry. If the permit is expired for greater than 30 days, you cannot carry a firearm until your permit is renewed. You DO NOT have to take the training course again and there are no extra fees beyond the standard renewal fee.
- If you would like a new permit issued with your new address, you can either make an appointment or send a letter through the mail.
- If you decide to ask for a replacement through the mail, send a letter to the attention of the CCW office explaining that you would like a new permit with your new address. Include a copy of your driver’s license with the new address on it, a self-addressed and stamped envelope so we can mail the permit back to you, and a cashier’s check or money order for $15 made payable to the Wayne County Sheriff’s Office.
- If you do not want a new permit until it is up for renewal, you can simply call our office at 330-287-5749 to let us know that your address has changed. We will make a note of it and change your address in our records and in LEADS. You are not required to have a new permit with your new address. This is an individual preference.
- If you recently got married and would like to have a new CCW permit with your new name, you need to make an appointment to come in person.
- You will need to bring a copy of your driver’s license with your new name, a copy of your marriage license, and a $15 cashier’s check or money order made payable to the Wayne County Sheriff’s Office.
- If you do not want a new permit until it is time to renew it, we still need a copy of your marriage license in order to be able to change your name in our records and in LEADS. You will need to either drop off a copy of the marriage license to our CCW office or mail it to Wayne County Sheriff’s Office, Attention CCW Office, 201 W. North Street, Wooster, OH 44691 with a copy of your current CCW permit.
- You can either make an appointment to come in person or request a new permit through the mail.
- If you decide to ask for a replacement through the mail, send a letter to the attention of the CCW office explaining that you would like a new permit because something happened to your old one. Include a copy of your driver’s license, a self-addressed and stamped envelope so we can mail the permit back to you, and a cashier’s check or money order for $15 made payable to the Wayne County Sheriff’s Office. If you lost your driver’s license or it was also stolen, you will need to get a new driver’s license before you can receive a new CCW permit because we need a copy of your driver’s license in order to reissue a permit.
- If you do not want a new permit reissued, please contact our office at 330-287-5749 and let us know that your permit was lost or stolen so we can make a note in our records.
- The State of Ohio allows 45 days to process a CCW application. Assuming you do not have a criminal background that would disqualify you from receiving a CCW permit, we usually mail our permits out the next business day. Please allow 7 days for delivery.
- If you are disqualified from getting a CCW, you will receive a certified letter in the mail explaining the reason for the denial.
- The fee you paid during your appointment is non-refundable, so make sure you meet all of the eligibility requirements and none of the disqualifiers before applying.
- If you followed the steps to make an appointment online and still have not received a confirmation e-mail, make sure that you have “booked” the appointment. If you have successfully done so, you will receive a message that says, “Appointment confirmed”. If you do not receive this message, you will need to try making the appointment again.
- The fee is waived for any active, honorably discharged, or retired military veteran. You will not need to take the CCW class, but you do need to bring your DD214 form and application as stated above.
Senate Bill 81: Effective November 5, 2018, the fee to obtain your license will be waived. (There is a cap of $1.5 million per year. Once that is reached, the fee will apply.)
The fee will be waived for "an active or reserve member of the armed forced of the United States" or a person who "has retired from or was honorably discharged from military service in the active or reserve armed forces of the United States". This applies to both the initial and renewal license applications.
Other changes due to the Bill:
Retirees of, or persons honorably discharged from, the U.S. armed forces may forgo firearms training no matter when their retirement or discharge occurred. (Previously, it was only if your retirement or discharge was within the last ten years.)
A person may apply for a renewal license at any time before expiration. (This removes the 90 day timeframe.)
- No. The CCW fee is waived for retired peace officers and retired federal law enforcement officers who, prior to retirement, were authorized under federal law to carry a firearm in the course of duty, unless the retired peace officer or federal law enforcement officer retired as a result of a mental disability. A minimum of 15 years of duty is required and must be within 5 years of your retirement date.
- Active peace officers must still pay the regular CCW fee.